How are the parenting sessions in Vietnam conducted?

27 Oct, 2021

We have developed a parenting education program to exchange and give advice to other young Vietnamese parents. Due to the ban on gatherings in the country because of COVID, we have adapted the program to offer online sessions. Nolwenn Deschard, our Early Childhood expert, participated in the first session held on Sunday, October 17, with the theme screen management

  • How are the sessions conducted? 

Our two social workers, Thao and HoaEach of these groups is made up of 6 to 7 parents. Each meeting deals with a specific topic that is given to the parents before the presentation. The sessions are normally scheduled for 30 minutes, but the parents asked during the first session to have more time to exchange and testify. The sessions now last 45-50 minutes

Each caseworker has an identical group of parents each week, at the same time on Sundays. 

We propose a activity to parents in connection with the theme to bring them to be actors of the problematic. A time to share reflections, of experiences and questions and answers is offered to those who wish to participate.

We also invite parents to share what they have retained of the previous session and explain the difficulties they encountered or the changes they were able to implement at home.

And we systematically ask them if they were able to discuss the previous session with their husbands / wives / parents / neighbors etc.

Then a very simple game is proposed so that parents can learn to reproduce it with their children, without equipment and at home.

Finally, the social worker closes the session by recalling the key messages discussed, and indicates the theme for the next session. 

  • What was the theme of the first session?

The first theme we addressed was that of screen management, awareness of their effects and how to find an alternative. The various exchanges with parents and the observations of social workers reveal that this is a real subject to be explored with our beneficiaries. Parents are asking for advice on how to avoid screens but don't know how to do otherwise. 

  • Nolwenn, what is your role in these sessions?

I have prepared these sessions for many months and have been adapted online with the social workers Hoa and Thao. Before each session, we test the session with each other and take turns playing the role of the facilitator and the parents, in order to readjust.

During the sessions, Tai (project manager for early childhood in Vietnam) translates everything that is said into English. I never intervene verbally but I may put comments to help or support an idea of a social worker. Then we exchange after each session to note areas for improvement in the workshop. 

  • What are the prospects in the coming weeks?

We hope to be able to organize the sessions in face-to-face as soon as possible, but also to have more participants !

Our other news :

Comment se déroulent les sessions de parentalité au Vietnam ?

27 Oct, 2021

Nous avons développé un programme d’éducation parentale afin d’échanger et de donner des conseils à de jeunes parents Vietnamiens. Face à l’interdiction des rassemblements dans le pays à cause du COVID, nous avons adapté le programme pour proposer des sessions en ligne. Nolwenn Deschard, notre experte Petite Enfance, a participé à la première session qui s’est tenue le dimanche 17 octobre et qui avait pour thème la gestion des écrans

  • Comment se déroulent les séances ? 

Nos deux travailleurs sociaux, Thao et Hoa, ont chacun constitué un groupe de 6 à 7 parents. Chaque réunion aborde un sujet précis transmis aux parents  avant la présentation. Il est normalement prévu 30 minutes de session mais les parents ont demandé lors de la première séance à avoir plus de temps pour échanger et témoigner. Les sessions durent donc maintenant 45-50 minutes

Chaque travailleur social a un groupe de parents identique chaque semaine, à la même heure le dimanche. 

Nous proposons une activité aux parents en lien avec le thème traité pour les amener à être acteur de la problématique. Un temps de partage de réflexions, d’expériences et de questions-réponses est proposé à celles et ceux qui le souhaitent.

Nous invitons également les parents à partager ce qu’ils ont retenu de la séance précédente et à expliquer les difficultés rencontrées ou les changements qu’ils ont pu mettre en place à la maison.

Et nous leur demandons systématiquement s’ils ont pu discuter de la session précédente avec leurs maris / femmes / parents / voisins etc.

Ensuite un petit jeu très simple est proposé afin que les parents apprennent à le reproduire avec leurs enfants, sans matériel et à la maison.

Enfin le travailleur social clôture la séance en rappelant les messages clés abordés, et indique le thème de la session suivante. 

  • Quel était le thème abordé lors de la première séance ?

Le premier thème que nous avons abordé était celui de la gestion des écrans, la sensibilisation sur leurs effets et comment trouver une alternative. Les différents échanges avec les parents et les observations des travailleurs sociaux révèlent en effet que c’est un véritable sujet à creuser avec nos bénéficiaires. Les parents sont demandeurs de conseils pour éviter les écrans mais ne savent pas comment faire autrement. 

  • Nolwenn, quel est ton rôle par rapport à ces sessions ?

J’ai préparé depuis de longs mois ces sessions et les ai adaptées en ligne avec les travailleurs sociaux Hoa et Thao. Avant chaque séance nous testons entre nous la session et chacun notre tour, nous jouons le rôle de l’animateur et des parents, afin de réajuster.

Pendant les sessions, Tai (chef de projet pour la petite enfance au Vietnam) traduit en anglais tout ce qui est dit. Je n’interviens jamais à l’oral mais il peut m’arriver de mettre des commentaires pour aider ou appuyer une idée d’un travailleur social. Puis nous échangeons après chaque session pour noter les points d’amélioration de l’atelier. 

  • Quelles sont les perspectives dans les prochaines semaines ?

Nous espérons pouvoir organiser les séances en présentiel dès que possible, mais aussi avoir plus de participants !

Nos autres actualités :