37 years of experience in the field

THE STORY OF AN NGO FOR CHILDREN

1984

Creation of the association  Enfants & Développement

1992

Creation of the association  Planète Enfants 

2016

Merger and birth of Planète Enfants & Développement

Key facts

1984

Cambodia is struggling to recover from 4 years of dictatorship. Under the Khmer Rouge regime from 1975 to 1979, the country suffered deportations, the massacre of its population, famine, the destruction of all places and objects of knowledge and especially its schools.

Founded in 1984 by Mrs. Danièle Cheysson under the name of "SOS Enfants du Cambodge", the association is the first French NGO to set up in Cambodia to help the children victims of the genocide. Initially specialized in pediatric health and nutrition, it extended its field of action to education, professional training and social protection.

1987

SOS Enfants du Cambodge, which became Enfants & Développement, set up in Laos (until 2004) to improve pediatric health services in partnership with the Laotian government. The association will develop the training of pediatric staff and more generally primary health care throughout the country.

1992

Planète Enfants was created in 1992 following a trip to Kathmandu where its founder was shocked by the poverty and violence suffered by children in Nepal.
Planète Enfants carries out assistance projects in different countries (help to schooling, support to street children, nutrition programs) until 2006, when it decides to refocus its action in Nepal. The association then develops an expertise in prevention, sensitization and protection against the trafficking of children and young girls.

1993

Enfants & Développement is expanding its activities in Vietnam. The association develops integrated programs for social protection, health, education and vocational training. It particularly focuses its support on excluded groups, such as ethnic minorities, street children and school dropouts.

1996

In France, Enfants & Développement is developing a project to prevent violence and fight against the exclusion of young people. For more than 12 years, the Ferme d'Égarande has been welcoming dozens of isolated young people who have broken away from their families or who have failed at school, in order to give them back their confidence and develop their future projects.

2004

The association is approaching a new continent and offers its expertise in Early Childhood and Family Support in Burkina Faso.

2009

The project for the protection and integration of street children in Kathmandu, Nepal, carried out since 2001, has been awarded the Human Rights Prize of the French Republic.

2015

Planète Enfants is on the front line of the terrible earthquake in Nepal which affects more than 8 million inhabitants and kills more than 9000 people. The association will distribute essential goods, will shelter children and women likely to be enrolled in human trafficking networks, will bring an individual psychological follow-up and will participate in the reconstruction of schools.

2016

Because they share common values and the same ambition, the NGOs Planète Enfants and Enfants & Développement decided to merge and join forces to build a world in which disadvantaged children are protected from all forms of violence and exploitation and flourish within their families and communities.

"We are true catalysts for change, having created the community preschool model in Cambodia, the childminder program in Burkina Faso, and a social assistance program in several countries to help families escape from poverty. And for the past five years, we have been using social entrepreneurship as a lever to strengthen our actions and make them sustainable."

Véronique Jenn-Treyer, Director of Planète Enfants & Développement

Support us

Taking action with my company

Become a volunteer

Make solidarity purchases

Mobilize on my networks

Legal Notice

All Rights Reserved

37 ans d’expérience sur le terrain

L’HISTOIRE D’UNE ONG POUR LES ENFANTS

1984

Création de l’association  Enfants & Développement

1992

Création de l’association  Planète Enfants 

2016

Fusion et naissance de Planète Enfants & Développement

Faits marquants

1984

Le Cambodge peine à se rétablir de 4 ans de dictature. Sous le régime des Khmers rouges de 1975 à 1979, le pays a subi les déportations, le massacre de sa population, la famine, la destruction de tous les lieux et objets de savoir et notamment de ses écoles.

Fondée en 1984 par Madame Danièle Cheysson sous le nom de “SOS Enfants du Cambodge”, l’association est la première ONG française à s’implanter pour venir en aide aux enfants victimes du génocide. D’abord spécialisée en santé et nutrition pédiatrique, elle étend son champ d’action à l’éducation, la formation professionnelle et la protection sociale.

1987

SOS Enfants du Cambodge, devenu Enfants & Développement, s’implante au Laos (jusqu’en 2004) pour améliorer les services de santé pédiatrique en partenariat avec le gouvernement laotien. L’association développera la formation des personnels en pédiatrie et plus globalement les soins de santé primaire dans tout le pays.

1992

Planète Enfants est créée en 1992 à la suite d’un voyage à Katmandou où son fondateur est heurté par la pauvreté et les violences subies par les enfants au Népal.
Planète Enfants mène des projets d’assistance dans différents pays (aide à la scolarisation, soutien aux enfants des rues, programmes de nutrition) jusqu’en 2006, date à laquelle elle décide de recentrer son action au Népal. L’association développe alors une expertise en matière de prévention, de sensibilisation et de protection contre la traite des enfants et des jeunes filles.

1993

Enfants & Développement étend son action au Vietnam. L’association développe des programmes intégrés de protection sociale, de santé, d’éducation et de formation professionnelle. Elle concentre particulièrement son soutien sur des publics exclus, comme les minorités ethniques, les enfants des rues ou les jeunes en décrochage scolaire.

1996

C’est en France qu’Enfants & Développement développe un projet de prévention de la violence et de lutte contre l’exclusion des jeunes. Pendant plus de 12 ans, la Ferme d’Égarande accueille plusieurs dizaines de jeunes isolés, en situation de rupture familiale ou d’échec scolaire, pour leur redonner confiance et développer leur projet d’avenir.

2004

L’association approche un nouveau continent et propose son expertise en Petite Enfance et Accompagnement des familles au Burkina Faso.

2009

Le projet de protection et d’intégration des enfants des rues de Katmandou au Népal, mené depuis 2001, est récompensé par le Prix des Droits de l’Homme de la République française.

2015

Planète Enfants est en première ligne du terrible séisme au Népal qui touche plus de 8 millions d’habitants et tue plus de 9000 personnes. L’association distribuera des biens de première nécessité, mettra à l’abri des enfants et des femmes susceptibles d’être enrôlés dans des réseaux de traite des êtres humains, apportera un suivi psychologique individuel et participera à la reconstruction d’écoles.

2016

Parce qu’elles partagent des valeurs communes et la même ambition, les ONG Planète Enfants et Enfants & Développement décident de fusionner et d’associer leurs forces pour construire un monde dans lequel les enfants défavorisés sont protégés de toute forme de violence et d’exploitation et s’épanouissent au sein de leur famille et de leur communauté.

“Véritables catalyseurs de changement, nous avons par exemple créé le modèle d’école communautaire au Cambodge, la filière d’assistante maternelle au Burkina Faso ou encore insufflé dans plusieurs pays un dispositif d’assistance sociale pour sortir les familles de la précarité. Et depuis 5 ans, nous faisons de l’entrepreneuriat social un levier pour le renforcement de nos actions et leur pérennité.“

Véronique Jenn-Treyer, Directrice de Planète Enfants & Développement

Nous soutenir

Agir avec mon entreprise

Devenir bénévole

Faire des achats solidaires

Mobiliser sur mes réseaux

Mentions Légales

© All Rights Reserved