Portrait of Sushila Nepal, Social worker

26 Apr, 2021

Originally from Nawalparasi, Nepal, I then moved to Kathmandu to pursue my studies. After completing my Masters in Education, I am currently training in psychosocial counseling. I am curious, creative, and determined, and I like to get involved in meaningful causes. I enjoy helping people with psychosocial problems by giving them the keys to feel better. Sushila Nepal

What does your work consist of on a daily basis?

Currently, I work as a social worker for the association Child Nepal, partner of Planète Enfants & Développement. I train groups of parents in community schools and guide them on health issues, the role of parents in education, the importance of care and development of young children...

I interact with school principals, facilitators, teachers to make schools more welcoming. Finally, I work to bring the Kindergarten of Hope to the most vulnerable: I meet with people working in the entertainment industry to let them know about our services.

Why did you choose this job? What motivates you on a daily basis?

Social workers are trusted professionals who can support, guide and assist families and communities in need. For me, it is first and foremost a passion to help others and have a positive impact on their well-being. Being a social worker and a psychosocial counselor at the same time, I am constantly learning from others.

Listening is one of the main qualities to have to do these jobs, because before giving our advice, we must first know who we are talking to. Finally, what motivates me every day is the positive feedback I get from the people I have helped, it's a bit like the consecration of my job.

How does the partnership with Planète Enfants & Développement work?

It is a mutual support that we provide to each other. I have learned a lot from PE&D's expertise in parenting education, family development methodology and tool development. I am very satisfied and grateful for this partnership. 

April 27, 2021

Portrait de Sushila Nepal, Travailleuse sociale

26 Avr, 2021

« Originaire de Nawalparasi au Népal, je suis ensuite partie vivre à Katmandou pour poursuivre mes études. Après l’obtention de ma maîtrise en Education, je suis actuellement une formation en conseil psychosocial. Curieuse, créative et déterminée, j’aime m’engager dans des causes profondes. J’apprécie pouvoir aider les personnes qui souffrent de problèmes psychosociaux en leur donnant les clés pour se sentir mieux.«  Sushila Nepal

En quoi consiste ton travail au quotidien ?

Actuellement, je travaille comme assistante sociale pour l’association Child Nepal, partenaire de Planète Enfants & Développement. Je forme des groupes de parents dans les écoles communautaires et les oriente sur des questions de santé, sur le rôle des parents dans l’éducation, l’importance des soins et de l’éveil des tout-petits…

J’interagis avec les directeurs d’école, les animateurs, les enseignants pour rendre les écoles plus accueillantes. Enfin je m’attache à faire connaître la Maternelle de l’espoir aux plus vulnérables : je vais donc à la rencontre des personnes travaillant dans le secteur du divertissement afin de leur faire connaître nos services.

Pourquoi as-tu choisi ce travail ? Qu’est-ce qui te motive au quotidien ?

Les travailleurs sociaux sont des professionnels de confiance qui peuvent soutenir, guider, aider les familles et les communautés dans le besoin. Pour moi, c’est avant tout une passion d’aider les autres et d’avoir un impact positif sur leur bien-être. Etant travailleuse sociale et conseillère psychosociale à la fois, j’apprends constamment des autres.

L’écoute est une des principales qualités à avoir pour faire ces métiers, car avant de prodiguer nos conseils, nous devons d’abord savoir à qui nous parlons. Enfin ce qui me motive chaque jour, ce sont les retours positifs des personnes que j’ai aidées, c’est un peu la consécration de mon métier.

Comment fonctionne le partenariat avec Planète Enfants & Développement ?

C’est un soutien mutuel que nous nous apportons. J’ai beaucoup appris de l’expertise de PE&D en matière d’éducation parentale, de méthodologie de développement familial et de développement d’outils de travail. Je suis très satisfaite et reconnaissante de ce partenariat. 

27 avril 2021

             

Nos autres actualités :