A comic book about family support in the slums of Cambodia

26 Oct, 2021

While the first 3-year phase of our project ended in June 2021, we are publishing a comic book in English to summarize our work in the field and launching activities in new areas of Phnom Penh to improve the living conditions of families in the slums.

Capitalize on our actions to share our experiences and learnings This is one of the objectives of the comic book that our Cambodian team has produced in English and distributed on site. This comic book highlights the story of a couple in difficulty that Planète Enfants & Développement will support to find solutions.

BD_accompaniment_familial_cambodia
BD_accompaniment_familial_cambodia

The story of this couple is more or less that of the 282 families who have benefited from a family accompaniment by our social workers over the past three years. It is also that of women victims of domestic violence who have been trained, often with their spouses, to manage the family budget. This has allowed them to take a different place in the household, to acquire a greater financial autonomy and to break taboos within the couple. Finally, it is also the story of 103 families who were able to co-finance renovation work on their homes to protect their children and live with more dignity.

After 3 years of teaching, we are now starting a new phase in the new districts. Of the eight targeted, we have already identified four in the north of Phnom Penh, on the outskirts of the city.

neighborhoods_HALI_phase2

In addition to thesocial assistance We want to go further in the training and empowerment of the PASSA volunteer groups (who represent the voice of the inhabitants to the local authorities). We also want to experiment and encourage the development of urban agriculture by residents to relieve their budget.

Finally, we will also work with the association SIPAR to promote access to reading. A " mobile library "The library will meet with children one half-day per week in each neighborhood to allow them to borrow and consult books.

>More information on the project to improve living conditions in the slums of Phnom Penh (HALI) by clicking here

slum_cambodia

Our other news :

Une BD pour parler de l’accompagnement familial dans les bidonvilles au Cambodge

26 Oct, 2021

Alors qu’une première phase de 3 ans de notre projet s’est achevée en juin 2021, nous publions une BD en anglais pour résumer notre action sur le terrain et lançons des activités dans de nouveaux quartiers de Phnom Penh pour améliorer les conditions de vie des familles dans les bidonvilles.

Capitaliser nos actions pour partager nos expériences et apprentissages sur le terrain, c’est l’un des objectifs de la bande dessinée que notre équipe cambodgienne a réalisée en anglais et distribuée sur place. Cette BD met en avant l’histoire d’un couple en difficulté que Planète Enfants & Développement va soutenir pour trouver des solutions.

BD_accompagnement_familial_cambodge
BD_accompagnement_familial_cambodge

L’histoire de ce couple, c’est plus ou moins celle des 282 familles qui ont bénéficié d’un accompagnement familial par nos travailleurs sociaux ces trois dernières années. C’est également celle de femmes victimes de violences domestiques qui ont suivi une formation, souvent accompagnées de leurs conjoints, pour gérer le budget de la famille. Ce qui leur a permis de prendre une place différente au sein du foyer, d’acquérir une meilleure autonomie financière et de briser des tabous dans le couple. Enfin, c’est aussi l’histoire de 103 familles qui ont pu co-financer des travaux de rénovation de leurs logements pour protéger leurs enfants et vivre plus dignement.

Forts de 3 ans d’enseignements, nous démarrons aujourd’hui une nouvelle phase dans de nouveaux quartiers. Sur les huit visés, nous en avons d’ores et déjà identifiés quatre dans le Nord de Phnom Penh, en périphérie de la ville.

quartiers_HALI_phase2

En plus de l’assistance sociale qui va être fournie aux familles et de la rénovation des logements, nous souhaitons aller plus loin dans la formation et la prise de responsabilités des groupes de volontaires PASSA (qui représentent la voix des habitants auprès des autorités locales). Nous voulons aussi expérimenté et encouragé le développement de l’agriculture urbaine par les habitants pour soulager leur budget.

Enfin, nous allons également travaillé avec l’association SIPAR pour promouvoir l’accès à la lecture. Une  « bibliothèque mobile » ira à la rencontre des enfants, une demi-journée par semaine dans chaque quartier, pour leur permettre d’emprunter et de consulter des livres.

>Plus d’informations sur le projet d’améliorer des conditions de vie dans les bidlonvilles de Phnom Penh (HALI) en cliquant ici

bidonville_cambodge

Nos autres actualités :