Vietnam: A conference to fight against gender-based violence

12 May, 2021

Vietnam: A conference to fight against gender-based violence

Sharing in order to move forward was the objective of the first debate co-organized last month by PE&D and a club of university students in Vietnam. Specialists, activists and students were able to share the problems related to gender-based and sexual violence in Vietnamese society before answering questions from the audience on the subject.

  1. Advocate for non-discrimination in the educational environment,
  2. Increase the visibility and recognition of male victims,
  3. De-normalizing sexual harassment too often romanticized in fiction in Vietnam

After an introduction by Cassandra Fallon, our Hy Vong project manager, who presented the role of the student clubs and the project's activities, Dr. Skultip, a psychologist known in Vietnam for her work with victims of violence, recalled the types of violence and launched the debate. The stereotypes conveyed in popular movies and dramas animated the discussions. These dramas tend to trivialize unhealthy relationships in which women are subjected to violence. Dr. Skultip deciphered behaviors that are often misinterpreted as romantic. For example, "wanting to keep you to yourself". These behaviors are actually warnings: they can reveal that the partner intends to isolate the other from his or her social circle, making him or her more vulnerable.

The participants also spoke at length about the difficulty of identifying victims and the need for support from institutions, family and friends so that they can express themselves. This support is mainly provided to date by associations.

Several participants were able to share their experiences. Like this young man who told the story of his mother, who was abused by his father and had no support. It was only when he came of age that he was able to react to defend his mother. A situation that he regrets and that eats away at him daily.

At the end of the conference, the students present presented their initiatives to prevent violence that also affects men and the LGBTQIA+ community. Professionals and students agreed that change is happening but that there is still a long way to go.

May 27, 2021

Vietnam : Une conférence pour lutter contre les violences sexistes

12 Mai, 2021

Vietnam : Une conférence pour lutter contre les violences sexistes

Échanger pour mieux avancer était l’objectif du premier débat co-organisé le mois dernier par PE&D et un club d’étudiants en Université au Vietnam. Spécialistes, militants et étudiants ont pu partager les problèmes liés aux violences sexistes et sexuelles dans la société vietnamienne avant de répondre aux questions du public sur le sujet.

  1. Prôner la non-discrimination dans l’environnement éducatif,
  2. Augmenter la visibilité et la reconnaissance des victimes masculines,
  3. Dé-normaliser le harcèlement sexuel trop souvent romancé dans les fictions au Vietnam

Après une introduction où Cassandra Fallon, notre chef de projet Hy Vong, a présenté le rôle des clubs étudiants et les activités du projet, le Docteur Skultip, psychologue reconnue au Vietnam pour son travail avec les victimes de violences, a rappelé les types de violences et lancé le débat. Les stéréotypes véhiculés dans les films et dramas populaires ont animé les discussions. Ces fictions ont en effet tendance à banaliser les relations malsaines dans lesquelles les femmes subissent des violences . Le Docteur Skultip a décrypté des comportements souvent interprétés à tort comme romantiques. Par exemple, le fait de « vouloir vous garder pour soi ». Ces agissements sont en réalité des avertissements : ils peuvent révéler que le partenaire a l’intention d’isoler l’autre de son cercle social, la ou le rendant ainsi plus vulnérable.

Les participant.e.s ont également longuement évoqué la difficulté à identifier les victimes et le nécessaire soutien des institutions, de la famille, des amis pour qu’elles puissent s’exprimer. Soutien principalement assuré à ce jour par les associations.

Plusieurs participant.e.s ont pu témoigner de leurs expériences. Comme ce jeune homme qui a raconté l’histoire de sa mère, victime d’abus de la part de son père, et sans soutien. Ce n’est qu’à sa majorité qu’il a pu réagir pour défendre sa mère . Une situation qu’il regrette et qui le ronge au quotidien.

En fin de conférence, les étudiants présents ont présenté leurs initiatives pour prévenir les violences qui touchent également les hommes et la communauté LGBTQIA+. Professionnels et étudiants s’accordent à dire qu’un changement est en train de s’amorcer mais que le chemin reste encore long.

27 mai 2021

Nos autres actualités :