3 questions to Estelle Dahani on insecurity in Burkina Faso

Sep 29, 2021

What are the security conditions of the Burkinabe people today?

The level of violence in the country has reached record levels in recent months. Armed terrorist groups have recruited heavily. They have also laid mines to trap roads and prevent security forces from intervening. For some time now, these groups have been targeting civilians as a priority to ambush security forces who come to their aid.

Between April and mid-June alone, nearly 300 civilians were killed in 115 security incidents. The North Central, Sahel, and Eastern regions continue to be the most affected.

What are the consequences for the population?

In the countryside, the majority of people live from agriculture and livestock. But increasingly often victims of looting or threatened with death, many flee their villages or isolate themselves.
Burkina Faso now has nearly 1.4 million internally displaced persons (IDPs), putting great pressure on the country's major cities. More than 2,000 schools have closed. And famine threatens the country: most farmers have not been able to grow crops and commodity prices have risen sharply.

How does the PE&D team continue to work under these conditions?

We have strengthened our security measures. We regularly assess the risks in the areas where we operate, we have set up travel procedures and communication channels with our local partners, and we are reinforcing the training of our employees and partners in good security practices. Without changing our DNA, we are adapting to the situation. PE&D is trying to position itself in the buffer cities that are hosting the displaced people to provide mothers and their children with support on early childhood development and education issues. It is essential that we all mobilize to protect all these children who are victims of violence from a very early age.

3 questions à Estelle Dahani sur l’insécurité au Burkina Faso

29 Sep, 2021

Dans quelles conditions de sécurité vivent les Burkinabés aujourd’hui ?

Le niveau de violence dans le pays a atteint des records ces derniers mois. Les groupes armés terroristes ont beaucoup recruté. Ils ont aussi posé des mines pour piéger les routes et empêcher les forces de sécurité d’intervenir. Depuis quelques temps, ces groupes ciblent en priorité les populations civiles pour tendre des embuscades aux forces de sécurité qui viennent leur porter secours.

Rien qu’entre avril et mi-juin, près de 300 civils ont été tués dans 115 incidents sécuritaires. Les régions du Centre Nord, du Sahel et de l’Est sont toujours les plus affectées.

Quelles sont les conséquences pour la population ?

Dans les campagnes, la majorité des gens vit de l’agriculture et de l’élevage. Mais de plus en plus souvent victimes de pillages ou menacés de mort, beaucoup fuient leurs villages ou s’isolent.
Le Burkina Faso compte aujourd’hui près d’1.4 millions de déplacés internes, exerçant une forte pression sur les grandes villes du pays. Plus de 2000 écoles ont fermé leurs portes. Et la famine menace le pays : la plupart des agriculteurs n’ont pas pu cultiver et les prix des matières premières ont beaucoup augmentées.

Comment l’équipe de PE&D continue-t-elle de travailler dans ces conditions ?

Nous avons renforcé notre dispositif de sécurité. Nous évaluons régulièrement les risques dans les zones où nous intervenons, nous avons mis en place des procédures de déplacements, des canaux de communication avec nos partenaires locaux et renforçons la formation des équipes salariées et partenaires sur les bons réflexes sécuritaires. Sans changer notre ADN, nous nous adaptons à la situation. PE&D tente de se positionner dans les villes tampons qui accueillent les déplacés pour fournir aux mères et à leurs enfants un soutien sur les questions d’éveil et d’éducation. Il est essentiel de tous nous mobiliser pour protéger tous ces enfants victimes de violence dès le plus jeune âge.

Nos autres actualités :